top of page

TRAVENTURE 3: Annie Oakley Perfumery, Ligonier

Lavender. Fresh mint. Honeysuckle. Lemon. Frankincense.

No, this isn't the start of a recipe for a refreshing summer beverage. Nor is it your grandma's secret cleaning concoction. These fine scents are just some of many that can be found at Annie Oakley Perfumery in Ligonier, Indiana.

Ligonier_AOPanorama.JPG

When I found out that there was a perfumery nearby, I was thrilled. I've always had a fascination with smell. My uncle used to joke that I could start my own Bath & Body Works from my personal collection. (He wasn't too far off.) For this weekend's TRAVENTURE, I convinced my mom, aunt and cousin to join me in taking a tour of Annie Oakley. Here are some knowledge tidbits that I discovered:

  • Annie Oakley is the only perfumery in the U.S.A.

  • Renee Gabet, the founder, began her business in her kitchen sink — just a short jog down the road from the factory.

  • Most perfume mixtures contain at least three distinct scents: a top note, a middle note and a base note. The top note is what you initially smell, the middle note is the fullest aroma overall and the base note lingers the longest.

  • It's actually possible to make a career out of designing perfume bottles. The evolution of Annie Oakley perfume bottles, below, shows a slight update of style and packaging. Renee Gabet, Annie Oakley's founder, traveled to France to work with a bottle designer to create the latest design, seen on the right.

  • Gabet's bottle design is modeled after the shape of a stirrup, and the Western theme is carried through many of her other products. Her son, Charlie, a dentist in a nearby town, was the model for her Wild West marketing (seen below).

This trip was both educational and entertaining! I'm giving Annie Oakley Perfumery a 7/10 stars. I didn't find their scents too appealing overall, but I thoroughly loved absorbing new knowledge about the perfume business.

Did I mention that we took a detour to the Amish community of Shipshewana for lunch? Check out the photo gallery below for some more shots from the trip, and thanks for reading!

Shipshewana_BlueGate.JPG

We ate at the famous Blue Gate Restaurant in Shipshewana for lunch.

Shipshewana_Chicken.JPG

The fried chicken was amazing! 9/10 stars.

Shipshewana_CousinPic.JPG

My cousin and I posed at this photo op in homey Shipshewana.

Shipshewana_carriage.JPG

Horse and buggy is one of the main modes of travel in Shipshewana.

Ligonier_AOBootBracelet_edited.JPG

Annie Oakley also sells boot bracelets, or charms that fit snugly around cowgirl boots.

Ligonier_AOOils.JPG

Essential oils from around the world

Ligonier_AOProduction.JPG

This is the production line where all the perfume bottles are filled.

Ligonier_AOPurfume_edited.JPG

The Citrus & Honey scent on the left was my absolute favorite of all the perfumes I sampled.

Ligonier_JTGarden_edited.JPG

We stopped by the Jennie Thompson garden after our tour, where 25 different flowerbeds made for a pleasurable stroll.

*Editor's note* The original version of this post was published on June 23, 2014, on lauradaronatsy.wordpress.com and later transferred here.


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Classic
  • Twitter Classic
  • Google Classic
bottom of page